Arashi Hits the Global Charts (Again)!

March 15, 2010 at 2:35 pm | Posted in Arashi, J-Pop/J-Music | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

 Congratulations to Arashi for making it to the global charts again. Sugoi desu ne? Now with their new single, Troublemaker. And it’s number one! Without further delay… Go Arashi!

 QUOTES ABOUT THIS NEWS FROM THE SOURCE:

“They always seem to be quite down- to- earth to me. If there’s a bit of arrogance or ego, they hide it well.
But these boys should be really proud of themselves!” – u_chai@lj

To which someone replied:

“Ohno asked the fans to scold them if they ever get big-headed.”

 

MY THOUGHTS: I’m glad about it. This means that Arashi has a lot of supporters and sales. But setting that aside, and that of being happy for them, I’m happy that an uplifting and energizing song like Troublemaker (trademark of Arashi music – inspiring songs) made it to the number one of the global charts, surpassing Lady Gaga and Rihanna who are so popular.

Honestly, I don’t like U.S. or Western music and their usual themes. I don’t say that they’re not good at all. I just mean that I can’t get myself to like them and be a fan.

One factor is the lyrics. Sometimes, I just don’t understand what they say, sometimes they say a lot of slang and ideas that are too adultish (you know what I mean). I find Japanese music more meaningful. (Western music fans, please don’t get angry with me. There are many western songs that I like!) Another is the music video. I like J-music videos, especially of Arashi, better. I’m aware of how good Western music videos are (especially those effects!) but I’m kinda more concerned of the theme and purity in it and how it makes people smile and how they teach values. But of course, J-music has their share of flaws and mistakes, too. Ah! Those silly costumes…

So, there! I’m just very scrutinizing because I choose what will help me be a good person (so this is personal). I’m just happy for Arashi because this is global achievement.  This means that their hardwork is really paying off and getting recognition internationally. I hope Arashi keeps singing songs which are very meaningful and full of their positive emotions.

And I’m also happy because Arashi is very down-to-earth and not arrogant. They even feel scared of what they have. That’s what makes me like them.

Current Mood: depressed, then suddenly, happy

This week’s prayer: Father God, please help me to surpass all the obstacles that come my way. Let me take this path courageously with the strength You will provide for those who have confidence in Your overflowing goodness. I trust in You.

Quote of the day: “Everything is a grace!” by St. There of the Child Jesus

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Honestly, I don’t like U.S. or Western music and their usual themes. I don’t say that they’re not good at all. I just mean that I can’t get myself to like them and be a fan.

    One factor is the lyrics. Sometimes, I just don’t understand what they say, sometimes they say a lot of slang and ideas that are too adultish (you know what I mean). I find Japanese music more meaningful. (Western music fans, please don’t get angry with me. There are many western songs that I like!) Another is the music video. I like J-music videos, especially of Arashi, better. I’m aware of how good Western music videos are (especially those effects!) but I’m kinda more concerned of the theme and purity in it and how it makes people smile and how they teach values. But of course, J-music has their share of flaws and mistakes, too. Ah! Those silly costumes…

    It’s quite ironic you’re saying this about J-Pop. Kyo and a lot of Japanese friends (his cousin included) like U.S./Western music more than their own. I guess they’re probably saying the same thing as you are (since I remembered you mentioning you’re not too much in to today’s OPM). In fact, he knows more about R&B/Hip-hop music than I do (I liked the older ones which I grew up with than the ones today… today’s R&B/Hip-hop (most of them anyway) are just seriously wack. There are notable ones, like Alicia Keys (I respect the songwriting-singers more though) and BEP (Black-Eyed Peas). Don’t even get me started with “Western pop”. Anyway…

    Arashi being “down-to-earth”? To be real, I’d say most of them are “down-to-earth.” Got some friends in Japan who most of them say that Matsujun is quite arrogant (and I have seen signs of his arrogance sometimes too in the shows). The others are as you say, down to earth. I would not say Arashi is the most “perfect” group around in terms of personality and lifestyles. Also, not all of their songs are meaningful and full of positive emotions. There’s a lot of songs that sound peppy and catchy but the lyrics are the complete opposite (well, I’ve owned like 6-7 of their albums so I know LOL).

    I’m a general music fan. I’m not taking sides here. Don’t hate me for “not seeing them as overly positive” because saying those things are kind of one-sided if you ask me (I’ve said similar thoughts like this in other forums and such and tons of fangirls started hating me for it. Go figure.). As a general music fan, it’s good to see both sides of each artist or genre. There’s always going to be the good and the bad side of every little aspect and it’s just a matter of you liking/appreciating them and their efforts or not. That’s why now, I don’t really have any favorites.

    • Hm… right. Well, people have different opinions, views, and likes, don’t they? But, it’s not really one-sided on my part. actually like a lot of American songs (I now like Kris Allen!), but I’m not a “big” fan. And yes, Matsumoto seems quite arrogant. -_-‘ But let’s just consider Ohno’s quote above! LOL.

      What do you think about this: some of us criticize our country’s own music and like other countries’ music. On the other hand, foreigners like our music which we criticize. It usually happens around here.

      Anyway, I’m going to graduate this March 27! Yahoo! That means vacation is near! And more opportunities for chat. I would like to talk about Rurouni Kenshin because I’m liking it again.

      ^_^ Don’t worry about fangirls hating you. You’re just an opinonated person and we need persons like that to evaluate things, right? I’m opinionated, too.

      • Congrats on your graduation! Yeah, it’s almost summer where you guys are. It’ll be spring here, so the weather would be sunny and mild. As I mentioned in your Rurouni Kenshin entry before this one, I haven’t seen that anime for almost 10 years now LOL, so I may have forgotten the storyline.😄

        ^_^ Don’t worry about fangirls hating you. You’re just an opinonated person and we need persons like that to evaluate things, right? I’m opinionated, too.

        Well, it’s not because I’m opinionated that I’m being “hated” upon (they’re opinionated too). I’m not trying to be conceited but some of my friends think that the reason why I’m being “hated” by these fangirls because they know I’ve got a point and the things I’m saying is true and don’t want to admit to it. After all, I’ve been through what these fangirls *are* going through in the early years of fandom and they can’t really pinpoint that I don’t know anything LOL.

        I do agree w/ you with Ohno’s comment though. People can get big-headed, but I’m glad Ohno’s aware of that fact.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

