The Amazing Matsujun’s Secrets in “Smile”

November 18, 2009 at 12:29 pm | Posted in Arashi, J-Drama, Matsumoto Jun | 7 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Okay. Before I start another one of my ramblings, I’ll start with the blog update. I have a new friend blog in the blogroll! Adri-chan of adriatastic.net! Thanks for adding me!

To be an actor is VERY HARD unless you are a pro. But even the pros find it difficult. To be able to produce tears, to look real on-screen, and to be convincing – these are very hard to do, right? In Jun-kun’s award-winning drama, Smile, we see A LOT of crying scenes. Have you very wondered how he does it? He was really good and had to show very powerful emotions. What I will share are just bits of the articles from Ore-sama. It was an interview of Matsujun in Hibi Mousou, a television and film magazine in Japan. Without further delay…

Matsumoto Jun’s Thoughts Behind Every Crying Scene in Smile! (just bits)

 > Loneliness – I channeled what it would feel like to be completely alone.

> And what it’s like to lose people you love, if all your friends stopped calling. And you have no one to eat yakiniku with. Or drink with. And how I always have to eat over the sink because there’s no one else to eat with.

> Growing up, people always made fun of my features and how I looked. (Yui: Aww…poor Jun-kun!)

> For my fifth birthday I asked for a pony and I got a firetruck instead.

> All I wanted was a pony! A PONY!

> And no one understands how hard it is to be me. The other day Aiba stole my prettiest pair of socks-

> And I get terrible backaches all the time-

> Michael Jackson’s dead?

> One time I got this fanletter in the mail and it was about how I was such an inspiration to people all over the world and how I was really cool and awesome and everyone wanted to be me and how I light up everyone’s life and make it worth living and how they think Japan sucked before I was born because it wasn’t nearly as awesome and cool and even though there were sad things in the world, my talent and work and smile made everything okay and happy again and how people will work hard and try their best and smile because of me.
And then I realized it was addressed to Sho.

YUI: Jun-kun has very many sad events in his life and these have helped him to be sensitive and emotional. Thinking of events in your life that made you feel sad and lonely helps in giving you emotions especially in producing tears. But there’s also another tip in acting: put yourself in the place of your character. This is one of the best ways to be able to show correct facial expressions and body movements. Crying isn’t just about producing tears – it’s also about showing the emotions of your character. You don’t really have to shed tears if you as your character does not need to.

I shared this because I’ve always liked acting although I don’t get the chance to act at school (always director, narrator, scriptwriter). Sigh. I want a change of roles… Anyway, crying is REALLY HARD. As I have said above, you have to get the right emotions and be your character. And to be able to produce tears, like Matsujun, you can think of sad things. This should get you cleansed and relieved from the bad feelings. Crying releases the negative emotions!

Going back to Jun-kun – He is a really great actor. He really worked out every scene in Smile very well. Well, that’s Matsujun, a hardworking person.

I hope this post helped those who are into acting and are needing tips in acting. Matsujun must be a really good help to you! He was to me! I have many sad events in my life too. Well, that’s all for today.

Current Mood: sad -_-

Current agenda: finish notebooks

Current Music: STEP AND GO – Arashi

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. thank you for sharing this…matsujun really great actor ne..
    but somehow, some of his thought to help him cry seems funny to me~
    like he really want pony (so cute, he seems like spoiled child here~`), aiba stole his prettiest socks, and a letter for sho^^’
    how mean i am… seems his biggest fear is loneliness…

  2. Thanks for the shout-out! I added you in my Blogroll as well (though I don’t really announce it like you do because not very many people come to my blog— I was told I was “controversial”, if you know what I mean…). ^^

    > One time I got this fanletter in the mail and it was about how I was such an inspiration to people all over the world and how I was really cool and awesome and everyone wanted to be me and how I light up everyone’s life and make it worth living and how they think Japan sucked before I was born because it wasn’t nearly as awesome and cool and even though there were sad things in the world, my talent and work and smile made everything okay and happy again and how people will work hard and try their best and smile because of me.
    And then I realized it was addressed to Sho.

    I’ve written a few fan letters to Sho with similar words like the one Matsujun mentioned here several years ago (of course, I didn’t get a reply back, which was fine, I just hoped that he did received and read it ^^). Though I’ll assume that the letter Matsujun mentioned here came from a Japanese fan. That just sucks that the fan addressed the letter to Matsujun and yet the message is towards Sho? That’s just wrong, man.

    Although Jun isn’t one of my favorites in Arashi, he does show a lot of talent and does show a lot of devotion to the industry. The only gripe that I have with him are his negative flaws. Every person always has their own flaws, but some of the flaws that he possessed in real life somehow turned me off from him (long story, will tell you later at another time).

    But thanks for the writeup. You should be a writer in AMNOS.net site LOL (I seriously need writers… T_T)

    • Shucks…I don’t know much about Arashi as you and the others do (earlier fans). Just what I’ve known in 6 months time. ^-^’ But if you would like to ask me for articles…well, I don’t know if I’ll make a good one but I’ll do my best.

      And me too. Jun had many flaws that turned me off, but I still like him very much. He is an Arashi member after all. I love them all.🙂

      • Doesn’t have to be “news and updates”-types of articles, just commentary (ie. opinion on a member or a song or drama, reviews on a song or drama or movie (whether you recommend or not), etc. etc.). And it doesn’t have to be everyday either, just when you got the time (and the idea) lol.

        Well, I still can’t say that I like him just because he’s an Arashi member. I’m more of an “individual preference.” It’s like saying “I love Arashi, but I don’t like all of them as individuals” or “I don’t like (this person, that person, etc.), but I love them together.” You know I mean?

  3. Yup, I know what you mean.

    And that would be easy – to write my opinions and reviews about Arashi songs and even dramas (well, dramas, if I have time as you have said)That would be great. Yeah sure. I’m in.

    • Awrighty. We’ll get you started. I’ll need a username & password from you so I can set you up on AMNOS.net. Since you’re a WordPress user, you shouldn’t have trouble getting around the Dashboard and post/edit your posts.🙂

  4. The fanletter thing cracked me up. I laughed really hard when I read it.😄 Poor Jun-kun!

    I love acting but I don’t get to do it much. But when I get the opportunity, I grab it.🙂 I’m not an expert in crying though, because I was raised in theater and I don’t know if theater actors cry too. I guess not. Lol.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

